The Breastfeeding Committee for Canada is the National Authority for the Baby-Friendly Initiative

Annual Report



Membership
  • 2016 Annual General Meeting:

    Thursday, April 28th
    4:30pm – 5:30 pm (EST)
    Place: Teleconference
  • BFI Assessment fees to change: Oct 1, 2015
    The BCC is very pleased to see the progress of BFI across Canada. In order to meet the demands for assessments, increased operational requirements, and administrative functionality of the BCC, the fees for assessments will change. Effective Oct 1, 2015, the following fee structure (for new contracts) will apply:
    Pre-Assessment $1,750.00
    External Assessment $6,000.00
    Designated facilities $250.00 annually
    Note: For Facilities who have entered into a contract prior to Oct 1, 2015, the fees will not change.
  • NEW! Breastfeeding promotion resource
    It is with great pleasure that the Public Health Agency of Canada, in collaboration with the Breastfeeding Committee for Canada, release Protecting, Promoting and Supporting Breastfeeding: A Practical Workbook for Community-Based Programs (2nd Ed). This resource aims to provide practical, best practice strategies to promote breastfeeding within a community setting, with a special focus on supporting vulnerable populations. The vision is to create environments where breastfeeding is the easiest choice for all women and their children.
    Please share widely with others!

  • Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants - Recommendations from Six to 24 Months
    released April 25, 2014

    See this newly revised joint statement by Health Canada, the Canadian Paediatric Society,
    The Dietitians of Canada and the Breastfeeding Committee for Canada

  • Newly revised!

    Click here to read the updated 'BFI Assessment Process and Costs: a
    description of the Baby-Friendly Journey'
  • Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants - Recommendations from Birth to Six Months

    See the newly revised joint statement of Health Canada, Canadian Paediatric Society, Dietitians of Canada, and Breastfeeding Committee for Canada (here). The importance of exclusive breastfeeding for the first 6 months and the implementation of the Baby-Friendly Initiative for hospitals and community health services are highlighted! Sincere thanks to all of you who provided very valuable input through both stakeholder consultations.

  • We are delighted that Michelle LeDrew, Director, Women’s and Newborn Health Program at the IWK Health Centre, NS has accepted to represent the BCC on the oversight committee for the revision of the Public Health Agency of Canada publication "Family-Centred Maternity and Newborn Care National Guidelines". Thank-you Michelle!

  • World Breastfeeding Week, promoted by an the World Alliance for Breastfeeding Action (WABA),is celebrated internationally. Each year a theme highlights a specific theme and allows for an international show of support as moms celebrate in various activities. This year, Canada celebrates WBW from October 1 - 7, 2014. The slogan and theme for WBW 2014 is:BREASTFEEDING: A Winning Goal - For Life! 


  • In Canada, the Quintessence Foundation organizes a yearly breastfeeding challenge. . It raises awareness of the need for breastfeeding and promotion, protection and support in the community. The breastfeeding challenge encourages social support and recognizes mothers who attend.


  • The World Alliance for Breastfeeding Action (WABA) a global network of individuals and organisations concerned with the protection, promotion and support of breastfeeding worldwide based on the Innocenti Declaration, the Ten Links for Nurturing the Future and the WHO/UNICEF Global Strategy for Infant and Young Child Feeding, provides the theme, ideas and other resources for World Breastfeeding Week. 


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11

Le Comité canadien pour l'allaitement est l'organisme national responsable pour l'Initative des amis des bébés

Rapport annuel



Adhésion
  • L’Assemblée générale annuelle 2016:

    Date : Jeudi, le 28 avril
    à 4h30 – 5h30 (EST)
    Endroit : téléconférence
  • Le comité canadien pour l’allaitement maternel vous invite cordialement à assister à L’Assemblée générale annuelle 2015

    Date : Jeudi, le 16 avril à 17h00 (MST)
    Endroit : Centre de conférence Lister, Edmonton, Alberta
    Le nom de la salle sera annoncé lors du Symposium national

    Les détails pour la téléconférence et l’ordre du jour seront envoyés bientôt.
    On vous encourage à assister pour en apprendre davantage sur les activités de la dernière année!
  • NOUVEAU! Ressource pour la promotion de l'allaitement maternel

    L’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, en collaboration avec le Comité canadien pour l’allaitement, est heureuse d’annoncer la publication du document intitulé Protéger, promouvoir et soutenir l'allaitement maternel – Un guide pratique pour les programmes communautaires (2e édition). Le document vise à fournir des pratiques exemplaires et des stratégies efficaces pour promouvoir l’allaitement dans un contexte communautaire, en mettant l’accent sur les populations vulnérables. L’intention est de créer un milieu d’allaitement de choix pour toutes les femmes et leurs enfants. N’hésitez pas à transmettre l’information!
  • La nutrition du nourrisson né à terme et en santé :
    Recommandations pour l'enfant âgé de 6 à 24 mois

    publié le 25 avril, 2014
    Ce nouveau document révisé, un énoncé conjoint de Santé Canada,
    de la Société canadienne de pédiatrie,
    de Diététistes du Canada et du Comité canadien pour l’allaitement, est maintenant disponible!

  • Récemment révisé!

    L'IAB - "La démarche et les frais d'évaluation: une description
    du voyage Amis des bébés", ici
  • La nutrition du nourrisson né à terme et en santé - Recommandations de la naissance à six mois

    Ce nouveau document révisé, un énoncé conjoint de Santé Canada, de la Société canadienne de pédiatrie, de Diététistes du Canada et du Comité canadien pour l’allaitement, est maintenant disponible (ici). L'importance de l'allaitement exclusif pendant les 6 premiers moisois et la mise en œuvre des politiques et des pratiques de l'Initiative des amis des bébés dans les hôpitaux et services de santé communautaires sont mis en évidence! Sincères remerciements à tous ceux qui ont apporté une contribution très importante à travers les consultations des parties prenantes.

  • Nous sommes ravis que Michelle LeDrew, directrice, Programme de santé de la femme et du nouveau-né à l'IWK Health Centre, NS a accepté de représenter le CCA sur le comité de surveillance de la révision de la publication "Les soins à la mère et au nouveau-né dans une perspective familiale : lignes directrices nationales” de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Merci Michelle!

  • La semaine mondiale de l’allaitement est célébrée à l’international, sous l’égide de WABA (Alliance internationale pour l’action liée à l’allaitement). Un thème choisi avec soin chaque année permet aux mères de participer à  diverses activités démontrant le soutien international à l’allaitement.  Cette semaine se déroulera au Canada, entre le 1er et le 7 octobre, sous le thème  Allaiter : un but gagnant pour la vie!


  • Au Canada, la Fondation Quintessence organise le défi allaitement en vue de sensibiliser la population au besoin de promotion, d’encouragement et de soutien à l’allaitement dans les communautés. Le défi allaitement encourage le soutien social et reconnaît les mères qui y participent.

  • WABA est un réseau international constitué de personnes et d’organismes intéressés par la promotion, l’encouragement et le soutien à l’allaitement. Son action est basée sur la Déclaration d’Innocenti, sur les Dix piliers pour une vision d’avenir, sur la Stratégie mondiale pour l’alimentation du nourrisson et du jeune enfant de l’OMS/UNICEF. C’est WABA qui détermine le thème annuel et fournit les idées de base de même que certaines ressources pour la Semaine mondiale de l’allaitement.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11